V8 Sleuth News
Jim Richards Headlines Sydney 500 Heritage Touring Cars Field

Jim Richards Headlines Sydney 500 Heritage Touring Cars Field

Published 26 November 2014

Four-time Australian Touring Car Champion to drive 1990-winning Nissan​

AUSTRALIAN Touring car racing legend Jim Richards will headline the appearance of Heritage Touring Cars that will feature in demonstrations backed by Shannons on each day of next weekend’s Sydney NRMA 500 at Sydney OIympic Park.

The four-time Australian Touring Car Champion and long-time Shannons ambassador will drive the Nissan Skyline GTS-R that he used for the majority of the championship season in 1990 – the year he won his third of an eventual four titles.

Richards purchased the car a few years ago and races it regularly in Heritage Touring Cars, a category that features certified and log-booked Group A and C touring cars that competed between 1973 and 1992 and races under the ‘Legends of Bathurst’ banner.

More than 20 cars will be featured on-track at the event from the turbocharged Nissans and Ford Sierras of the international Group A era to the V8-powered Commodores, Falcons and Toranas that typified the Aussie-based Group C rules.

2014 Heritage Touring Cars Group A Champion Terry Lawlor is a confirmed starter in his GIO Nissan GT-R while former Bathurst class winner Scott Bargwanna (cousin of 2000 winner Jason) will drive a unique ex-John Smith Toyota Supra Turbo.

Sydney’s David Gardner will appear in his recently restored, ex-Alf Barbagallo, Perkins-built Commodore Group A VN, while other cars to feature include an ex-Colin Bond Caltex Sierra, ex-Jim Richards BMW M3, ex-George Fury Nissan Skyline, a range of V8-powered Commodores, Falcons and Toranas from Group A and C and even an ex-privateer Volvo 240 Turbo.

Paul Gates, Shannons Insurance National Sales Manager, says the category fits perfectly with Shannons.

“We’re all about passionate people who are passionate about their cars and some of the most passionate are in the Heritage Touring Cars category. The class is essentially an Australian touring car racing history lesson on wheels and seeing them on track in Sydney will bring back plenty of memories for many fans.”

The Heritage Touring Cars will appear in a 20-minute demonstration session on each of the three days with Saturday’s demonstration the curtain raiser to the first V8 Supercar race and Sunday’s acting as the curtain-raiser to the final Dunlop Series race of the season.


2014 Heritage Touring Cars – Sydney NRMA 500 Provisional List

Driver            Car            Group            History                                               

Terry Lawlor            Nissan GT-R            A            Ex-Mark Gibbs, GIO Bob Forbes

Jim Richards            Nissan Skyline GTS-R            A            Ex-factory 1990 ATCC winner

Craig Markland            Ford Sierra RS500            A            1992 Colin Bond Bathurst Caltex car

Scott Bargwanna            Toyota Supra Turbo            A            Ex-John Smith, Toyota Team Australia

Luke Ellery            Nissan Skyline DR30            A            Ex-George Fury, 1987 Sandown 500 winner

David Towe            BMW M3            A            Ex-Jim Richards JPS 1987 Bathurst car

Garry Kirwin            Holden Commodore VL            A            Ex-Jagparts, Gerald Kay

Norm Mogg            Holden Commodore VL            A            Ex-HRT, Crompton/Percy Bathurst ‘89

Craig Neilson            Mitsubishi Starion            A            Ex-Kevin Bartlett

Paul Axiak            Holden Commodore VK            A            Ex-Barry Jones/Tony Mulvihill

Wayne Clift            Holden Commodore VK            A            Ex-Wayne Clift

Adam Workman            Nissan Bluebird Turbo            C            Ex-Fred Gibson/John French Bathurst 1983

Fraser Ross            Ford Falcon XD            C            Ex-Mike Imrie

Ed Singleton            Holden Commodore VH            C            Ex-Allan Grice STP Roadways

Frank Binding            Ford Falcon XD            C            Ex-Army Reserve, Bob Muir

Shaun Tunny            Holden Torana A9X            C            Ex-Bob Forbes/Kevin Bartlett

Michael Logiudice            Holden Torana A9X            C            Ex-Peter Janson/Larry Perkins

Rod Hatfield            Holden Torana L34            C            Ex-Dustings, McRae

David Gardner            Holden Commodore VN            A            Ex-Alf Barbagallo Castrol privateer

Richard Prince            Volvo 240 Turbo            A            Ex-Laurie Hazelton privateer

Jamie McDonald            Holden Commodore VK            A            Ex-Steve Masterton

Beach Thomas            Toyota Celica            C            Ex-Graeme Bailey, Chickadee

Doug Clark            Toyota Celica            C            Ex-Doug Clark

John Abbott            Toyota Supra            A            Ex-Peter Williamson



<< Back to the News.